MEMORIAL FUND CREATED FOR THE LATE JASON “JAY” HAHN IN SUPPORT OF HIS FAMILY

Help support the Hahn Family, TamaquaArea comFriends and loved-ones have create a memorial fund in memory of the late Jason “Jay” Hahn, 22, of Andreas (West Penn Township), and his family.
This comes two days after Hahn’s body was discovered in a wooded area in Blythe Township.
Hahn was last seen leaving his home on June 14, 2014 with Ethan Sullivan of St Clair. Sullivan was charged with Hahn’s murder on June 22.
In addition to placing a memorial cross placed where Hahn’s body was discovered, loved-ones have created two memorial Facebook pages for Hahn. They are:
Jason “Jay” Hahn Memorial page
In Loving Memory of Jay
Friends, loved-ones and community members are asked to leave memories or comments on either page.
In addition, family member Alice Hahn is asking friends and loved-ones to put a small note or picture or items in with Jay’s casket. She said to drop it off at 401 Hazle Street, apartment 8, in Tamaqua before 4 PM on Wednesday.
They are also asking people to contribute to the Hahn Memorial Fund by stopping by any Wells Fargo branch and making a donation.
Donations can be made to”Jason J. Hahn Memorial Fund” c/o Wells Fargo Bank, 17 West Broad Street, Tamaqua PA  18252 or by contacting Alice Hahn at (610) 563-5172.


Some comments on the memorial Facebook pages read:
“…Fly High Jay. You are one awesome angel now! Watch over all of us! – Sonja Lee Ritter.
I may not have known you, but it saddens me to hear about this. God bless the family and friend…” – Angela Rex.
Prayers go out to all the people who loved this young man. I did not know Jay, but this hit very close to home. I am deeply saddened by the outcome and will continue to send all my thoughts and prayers his family’s way at this difficult time…gone way too early in life.” – Jessica Harig Reinhard.
Thought and prayers to the family. The stop will never be the same.” – JoAnne Turner.
We used to call him Jay Jay jet plane when he was a toddler. Harry and I used to cruise around and cause mischief with little Jay in the back seat eating fries sipping his McFlurry as a preteen. When he was in his teens, Harry and I found a large quantity of cigars and left him smoke some and he went home and got sick and puked, LOL. I will miss him and always will…” – Richard Earl Ritter III.
Prayers to the Hahn family. Fly high Jay!” – Shannon Lash.
I’m so very sorry for the loss of this young man. May he rest in peace.” – Tara Dillman.
“No one deserves to go so young. Never talked to you, but I knew you. Rest easy Jay.” – Bobbie Noel Kunkel.
Unbelievable… How sick and twisted this life can turn… Nobody deserves what has happened to you Jay, but I can only hope that you have finally found peace and you will live on through the love of your family and friends. You’re in good company now. Much love buddy.” – Brooke Murphy.
So sorry for your loss. 😦 A young innocent life was taken. Why is violence always the answer? I’m tired of hearing about killings and guns etc… Something needs to be done.” – Christina Smith.
My prayers and thoughts go out to the family and friends of Jay. I know exactly what you are feeling at this sad time having just gone through the same thing with my sister, Ang in February. The world is so full of evil people anymore. He was much too young to be taken. He is the same age as my son. It is so tragic. How can people be so cruel to another human being? There’s just no reason for any of it. It is very hard but I hope the family can find some comfort in some way. Going through a situation like this changes your life forever in ways no one understands unless they have to go through it themselves!” – Sherri Serfass Steigerwalt.
This morning, I had to drive past where they found you and it was the worst feeling of my life. My throat closed up, I couldn’t breath, I felt like I was going to throw up, and bawled like crazy. Idk how I made it to class in one piece. On the way home, I was going to stop, but I just couldnt. Going there for me means your really gone. I ask myself over and over why you. I just can’t believe it. I dont know how to handle it. We all wish you could come back with us Jay. You are so loved and missed so dearly. I just keep replaying all of our conversations and our last one in my head. Rest in peace, angel.” – Tiffany Hauck.
Thoughts and prayers for the Hahn family. Heaven gained another angel. Fly high Jay. Friends on Hazle Street will miss you, especially all the kids. You always took time out for them. You will be missed dearly.” – Mary Ann Hutta.
Friend Jesse Lincovich posted a photo of the words “RIP Jay” in the beach while at the New Jersey shoreline.
In addition, Sonja Lee Ritter, a close friend of the family, posted a link to a Grateful Dead song “I Need a Miracle.” Ritter said this was one of Jay’s favorite songs and was also tattooed across the top of Jay’s chest.
Another post by Ritter reads, “Today was one of the saddest days ever going to the site and seeing where he was left to die, I just keep asking myself WHY? I don`t understand it and I have no answers, I`m heartsick looking at his brother Harry and his Aunt Alice Hahn and jay`s cousin, and all the rest of his family and friends. I have so many pics from today the cross his brother had made for him was beautiful and we all signed it, I`m so sorry to anyone that had been waiting all day for me to approve things on here because I was gone for most of the day and then had to come home and take care of my kids! I look at my son and daughter and can`t imagine what Jay`s mom must be going through, you go through so much raising a child and watching them grow through the years and then you let them go out into the world so some so called friend can take there life with no remorse! Jay please watch over all of us and know that we love you and wont ever forget you! RIP.”


A viewing for Hahn is scheduled this Friday (June 27, 2014) from 1 PM to 3 PM at the Lamar Christ Funeral Home in Hometown. Funeral service will start at 3 PM. Interment will follow in the Zion Cemetery in the Dutch Hill section of Tamaqua.


Click HERE to view Hahn’s obituary.
Click HERE to view a related June 19, 2014 story.
Click HERE to view a related June 22, 2014 story.


Below are photos posted on the memorial pages from friend Sonja Lee Ritter and other loved ones:
6-23-2014, Jason Jay' Hahn Memorial Fund Story  Sonja Lee Ritter (1) Sonja Lee Ritter (2) Sonja Lee Ritter (3) Sonja Lee Ritter (4) Sonja Lee Ritter (5) Sonja Lee Ritter (7) Sonja Lee Ritter (8) Sonja Lee Ritter (9) Sonja Lee Ritter (10) Sonja Lee Ritter (11) Sonja Lee Ritter (12) Sonja Lee Ritter (13) Sonja Lee Ritter (14) Sonja Lee Ritter (15) Sonja Lee Ritter (16) Sonja Lee Ritter (17) Sonja Lee Ritter (18) Sonja Lee Ritter (19) Sonja Lee Ritter (20) Sonja Lee Ritter (21) Sonja Lee Ritter (22) Sonja Lee Ritter (23) Sonja Lee Ritter (24) Sonja Lee Ritter (25) Sonja Lee Ritter (26) Sonja Lee Ritter (27)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.